“Dance is the hidden language of the soul, of the body”. -Martha Graham

Hi everyone! I’m a folklorical music dancer, I was 6 years old when I started dancing, when I turned 11 I stopped doing it, because the group where I danced get dissolved. When I was 16 I got into a new dance crew. I’m 18 and I’m still with the same crew.

For those who doesn’t know , every state has its own music and dance style, I learned the styles of Chihuahua, Sinaloa, Jalisco, Nayarit, San Luis Potosí and most of all, Veracruz, because I live there and my group is from there too.

Veracruz is my favorite style, because the music is very happy and the costumes are beautiful, the traditional is white, for “Jarocho” style, and for the other ones are made with vibrant colors.

I really like to practice this kind of dances, because they’re traditional and very colorful. You should take a look at them!!!

-Yesli Aylin Gomez

